AWARDS SEASON: “Winter’s Bone” takes Gotham best pic

The winners for the 20th Anniversary Gotham Independent Film Awards were announced Monday evening at a ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street in NYC and are considered the first major ceremony of the awards season:

Best Feature
Winter’s Bone
Debra Granik, director; Anne Rosellini, Alix Madigan-Yorkin, producers (Roadside Attractions)

Best Documentary
The Oath
Laura Poitras, director/producer (Zeitgeist Films and American Documentary/POV)

Best Ensemble Performance
Winter’s Bone
Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Kevin Breznahan (Roadside Attractions)

Breakthrough Director
Kevin Asch for Holy Rollers (First Independent Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor
Ronald Bronstein in Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films)

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You
Mike Ott, director; Frederick Thornton, Laura Ragsdale, Sierra Leoni, producers

Congrats to the winners – this gives Winter's Bone a leg up on a possible Oscar run…we'll see what happens…