AWARDS SEASON: “Animal Kingdom” cleans up at Australia’s AFI Awards

The Aussie import Animal Kingdom, which has been getting a little love here in the States for Jacki Weaver's supporting performance, cleaned up BIG TIME at Australia's AFI Awards on Friday night. It captured TEN awards, including FIVE of the big six -  Best Picture, Best Director for David Michod, Best Actor for Ben Mendelsohn, Best Actress for Jacki Weaver, and Best Supporting Actor for Joel Edgerton; the only one it missed out on was the Supporting Actress category. It also won both the Members' Choice and Readers' Choice awards for Best Picture.

The gritty crime drama centered around a Melbourne crime family is easily one of the best films of the year, and I wish LaLaLand would get its head out of its posterior and see that…

Here's the complete list of AFI awards, which also includes television, handed out Friday:

The full list of winners of the 2010 AFI Awards:

 Best film – Animal Kingdom

Best direction – David Michod, Animal Kingdom

Best original screenplay – David Michod, Animal Kingdom

Best adapted screenplay – Stuart Beattie, Tomorrow When The War Began

Best lead actor – Ben Mendelsohn, Animal Kingdom

Best lead actress – Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Best supporting actor – Joel Edgerton, Animal Kingdom

Best supporting actress – Deborah Mailman, Bran Nue Dae

Best feature length documentary – Contact, Martin Butler and Bentley Dean (ABC)

International award for best actor – Sam Worthington, Avatar

International award for best actress – Mia Wasikowska, Alice in Wonderland

Young actor award – Harrison Gilbertson, Beneath Hill 60

Members' choice award – Animal Kingdom

Readers' choice award – Animal Kingdom

Best cinematography – Greig Fraser, Bright Star

Best editing – Luke Doolan, Animal Kingdom

Best sound – Andrew Plain, David Lee, Gethin Creagh and Robert Sullivan, Tomorrow When The War Began

Best original music score – Antony Partos and Sam Petty, Animal Kingdom

Best production design – Janet Patterson, Bright Star

Best costume design – Janet Patterson, Bright Star

Visual effects award – Peter Spierig, Michael Spierig, Rangi Sutton, James Rogers and Randy Vellacott, Daybreakers

Best television drama series – Rush, Season 3 (Ten)

Best telefeature, mini series or short run series – Hawke (Ten)

Best direction in television – Emma Freeman, Hawke (Ten)

Best screenplay in television – Jason Gann, Adam Zwar, Wilfred II – Episode 7, Dog Star (SBS)

Best lead actor in a television drama – Richard Roxburgh, Hawke (Ten)

Best lead actress in a television drama – Catherine McClements, Tangle, Season 2 (showcase)

Best guest or supporting actor in a television drama – Damien Garvey, Underbelly: The Golden Mile – Episode 10, Hurt on Duty (Nine)

Best guest or supporting actress in a television drama – Deborah Mailman, Offspring (Ten)

Best children's television drama – My Place (ABC)

Best children's television animation – dirtgirlworld (ABC)

Best television comedy series – Review With Myles Barlow, Season 2 (ABC)

Best light entertainment television series – The Gruen Transfer, Series 3 (ABC)

Best performance in a television comedy – Phil Lloyd, Review With Myles Barlow, Season 2 (ABC)

Outstanding achievement in television screen craft – Shaun Micallef, Talkin' 'bout Your Generation (Ten)

Best documentary under one hour – You Only Live Twice, The Incredibly True Story Of The Hughes Family (ABC1)

Best documentary series – Liberal Rule, The Politics That Changed Australia (SBS)

Best direction in a documentary – Jacob Hickey, Inside The Firestorm (ABC)

Best cinematography in a documentary – Miracles – Episode 1, Miracle in the Storm (ABC)

Best editing in a documentary – Steven Robinson, Inside The Firestorm (ABC)

Best sound in a documentary – Jock Healy, Tristan Meredith and AJ Bradford, Inside The Firestorm (ABC)

Best short animation – The Lost Thing – Sophie Byrne, Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan.

Best short fiction film – The Kiss – Sonya Humphrey and Ashlee Page.

Best screenplay in a short film – Deeper Than Yesterday – Ariel Kleiman.

Outstanding achievement in short film screen craft – Nick Matthews – The Kiss, Cinematography.

Raymond Longford award – Reg Grundy

Byron Kennedy award – Animal Logic – presented to Zareh Nalbandian