AWARDS SEASON: Hoosiers follow the trend, pick “Social Network” as best pic

The winners of the Indiana Film Critics Association. announced Sunday:

Best Film of the Year: The Social Network
Runner-up: Inception

Other Finalists: 127 Hours, Black Swan, Exit Through the Gift Shop, The Fighter, Never Let Me Go, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, True Grit, Winter's Bone

Best Animated Film: How to Train Your Dragon
Runner-up: Toy Story 3

Best Foreign Language Film: Lebanon
Runner-up: Biutiful

Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop
Runner-up: The Tillman Story

Best Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network
Runner-up: Christopher Nolan, Inception

Best Director: Christopher Nolan, Inception
Runner-up: Debra Granik, Winter's Bone

Best Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan
Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter's Bone

Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit
Runner-up: Melissa Leo, The Fighter

Best Actor: James Franco, 127 Hours
Runner-up: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter
Runner-up: John Hawkes, Winter's Bone

Original Vision Award: Inception
Runner-up: 127 Hours

The Hoosier Award:
Andie Redwine, writer/producer of Paradise Recovered


The fact that they even CONSIDERED Scott Pilgrim Vs The World as a best pic candidate shows you that Indiana marches to the beat of their own drummer. Also, they're the second group to override the trend in the animated department, choosing How To Train Your Dragon over Toy Story 3.