• Delicious

First time director Bing Liu’s rich, heart-tugging portrait of three skateboarding friends and their intertwined lives, “Minding The Gap“, has taken the top prize from the International Documentary Association (IDA) for 2018. For those of you who haven’t yet seen this engrossing doc as yet, it is currently available for play on Hulu.

The complete list of winners is below:

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Feature Winner

“Minding the Gap” (Hulu/POV. Director/Producer: Bing Liu. Producer: Diane Quon)

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Best Short Winner

“Zion” (Netflix. Director/Producer: Floyd Russ. Producer: Carter Collins)

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Series Winners

Best Curated Series Winner

POV (POV/American Documentary. Executive Producers: Justine Nagan and Chris White)

Best Episodic Series Winner

“The Trade” (Showtime. Executive Producers: Matthew Heineman and Pagan Harleman)

Best Limited Series Winner

“Wild Wild Country” (Netflix. Directors: Chapman Way and Maclain Way. Producer: Juliana Lembi. Executive Producers: Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Josh Braun and Dan Braun)

Best Short Form Series Winner

MEL Films (Executive Producer: David Freid)

Best Music Documentary Winners

“MATANGI / MAYA / M.I.A.” (Abramorama. Director/Producer: Steve Loveridge. Producers: Lori Cheatle, Paul Mezey and Andrew Goldman)

“Mr. SOUL!” (Director/Producer: Melissa Haizlip. Co-Director: Samuel D. Pollard)

Best Audio Documentary Winner

“Caliphate” (The New York Times. Reporters: Rukmini Callimachi and Andy Mills. Producers: Andy Mills, Larissa Anderson, Wendy Dorr, and Asthaa Chaturvedi)

Creative Recognition Awards

Best Cinematography

“Distant Constellation” (Cinephil. Cinematographer: Shevaun Mizrahi)

Best Editing

“Minding the Gap” (Hulu. Editors: Bing Liu and Joshua Altman)

Best Writing

“The Other Side of Everything” (Writer: Mila Turajlić)

Best Music Score

“Bisbee ’17” (Composer: Keegan DeWitt)

“Hale County This Morning, This Evening” (Cinema Guild. Composers: Scott Alario, Forest Kelley, and Alex Somers)

2018 IDA Documentary Awards Sponsored Special Awards

ABC News VideoSource Award

“John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls” (HBO. Directors/Producers: Peter Kunhardt, George Kunhardt, and Teddy Kunhardt)

Pare Lorentz Award

“The Silence of Others” (Cinephil/POV. Directors/Producers: Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar)

Honorable Mention: “The Distant Barking of Dogs” (Cinephil. Director: Simon Lereng Wilmont. Producer: Monica Hellstrøm)

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

“Circle” (National Film and Television School. Director: Jayisha Patel)

Liked it? Take a second to support PNRNetworks on Patreon!